Strength in Numbers

I like my alone time. I like solitude. Time for reading, prayer and mediatation. There are so many things to learrn, to discover in the quiet.
Then there are times that solitude is overwhelming there is so much sickness and suffering in the world we live in. I feel I must do something, and I try to do the things I can that affect change. Especially prayer. I believe it changes things. It has for me and many, many others that I know.
Last night I met with a couple of friends I’ve known for some time. And one new friend to be. We went around the table and shared our goals, our dreams for our respective businesses. They were all different but there was a chord that ran through them all. We all need others to help us accomplish our dreams and goals. There was something else we discovered. Three of us have recently embarked on a healthier way of living, eating and moving. This in turn has inspired us to open other doors just a bit wider with more confidence than before. Allowing us to see some of the possibilities when we open ourselves up to change. Positive change.
Why is that? I believe there is strength in numbers. That we’re made to need others to succeed. No matter how large or small the goal. Who wants to reach their dreams and say, “I did this all my myself?”
Your three year old maybe, but not us as adults, well, hopefully not anyway!
We all want to ‘belong’ to something. A club, a church, a social networking group, a team. Something that helps us to feel we are in ‘it’ together with other people of likemind.
The ‘it’ I’m speaking of here is just doing life with others. Who are your others? Are they positive? Do they help you affect the changes in your own life that you want to see come about?
Now, of course we don’t always get to choose the people we spend a lot of time with in the work place and in other situations. But our other time we do have a choice. Choose carefully, there is strength in numbers. Positive and negative.
“Two can accomplish more than twice as much as one, for the results can be much better. If one falls, the other one pulls him up, but if a man falls when he is alone he is in trouble.
Also, on a cold night, two under the same blanket gain warmth from each other, but how can one be warm alone? And one standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back to back and conquer. Three is even better for a triple braided cord is not easily broken.”
~ Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 TLB

Leave a Reply

